Thievery Corporation, The Richest Man In Babylon

6 08 2008

This Post over at Motel de Moka got me in the mood for some chillout music.  Typically I would listen to some downtempo RnB perhaps, or in my worst moods, the Garden State Soundtrack.  But today (or tonight, it’s about midnight and I’m sleepy), I want some electronica chillout stuff, or to be more specific, Theivery Corporation.  Thievery Corporation hails from Washington D.C. and came onto the scene in 1995.  Since then, they have released 5 albums, each with a combination of world influences, mixed with a lounge-style aesthetic.  My personal favorite album of Thievery Corporation is The Richest Man In Babylon, released in 2002.  In my opinion, the group’s combination of the use of heavy bass lines, wavering synths, electronic beats and acoustic instruments is at it’s best in this album.  Influences include dub, jazz, dance, reggae, indian, and rap music.  The Richest Man in Babylon also features singers from all over the world including France, Jamaica, and Iceland.  As far as downtempo electronica goes, Thievery Corporation is consistently good music.  You can download The Richest Man in Babylon Here.

–Frosty Fresh


Actions

Information

3 responses

6 08 2008
sonic_synesthesia

Hey,

Dig the site, just wanted to post a comment and thank you for the nod. I went to ESL for the first time a few weeks ago and the whole vibe of the place set the gears in motion to make the distriction playlists. It was actually my first taste of theivery but it is far from the last. Best with the blog, and let me know if you have any requests or anything.

keep on

17 03 2009
stuart

I love Thievery Corp. there music changes the way i think, there philosophy on there sounds are perfect. they are real artist unlike the rap and hip-hop of todays corrupt world. there music speakes a message that can be whatever you choose.

20 04 2009
Resume « Kari Elam

[…] ŸBlog /playlists cited and reviewed by traditional/new media publications (Times Online (UK), The Morning News, ListenIn, Real Fresh) […]

Leave a comment