Poppa Was a Rolling Stone Mixtape

5 08 2008

I was real reluctant to download this, and it’s been on my radar for a while, at least a couple of weeks.  Biggie vs. The Rolling Stones??  The idea was so far out there that I wouldn’t have even predicted it as a bad idea.  It’s just one of those things.  I love pizza, and I love PB&J, but I would never mix em up, you know?  Scary stuff.  It’s the same case.  Both the Stones and B.I.G. are incredible artists in their own field, but would it be good together?  Not to mention there’s the issue of the mixtape producers.  I could download it and it would just be a lot of laser sounds with little girls sayin’ “DJ CHRIS” every ten fucking seconds.  Well, I finally downloaded it last night…and I’m glad I did.  This shit is ill.

Before you listen to it, the idea seems a novelty, hardly something to take seriously, but when it’s playing, you can really see/hear the idea.  Some of the mixups are totally amazing, too.  My favorite track right now, for example, is “Niggas Paint it Black” (Biggie’s “Niggas Bleed” vs. “Stones’ Paint it Black”).  Just wait till you hear the “Juicy” vs. “She’s a Rainbow” mixup, it’ll put a smile on your face.  Granted, theres some of that mixtape stuff, sem-irritating intros and voiceovers, but its all in moderation, and I’m glad the producers stepped aside to showcase the samples.  Whether or not you admit to being a hipster, you’re gonna have a hard time not rockin’ (and rollin’) to this at your next party (or after-party).

Download Mixtape Here courtesy of The Vibe Source

–Frosty Fresh


Actions

Information

Leave a comment